About Us

Celebrating over 40 Years of Theater!

Porthole Players is a non-profit community theater group, established in Newport, Oregon in 1972. We are committed to increasing the social capital of our community through our love of theater: developing the skills, spirit, and artistic sensibilities of all those who participate, on stage, behind it, or in the audience. (Oh, and we also put on great shows, too - musicals, dramas, comedies, and more!). We are sponsored in part by the Oregon Coast Council for the Arts, many wonderful volunteers and members.


Board of Directors

The Porthole Board of Directors is comprised of 12 directors, 1 youth member, and 4 officers that make up the executive committee. Officers are often directors, but do not have to be. Directors serve a three year term and officers serve a one year term. Board members are listed at the right along with their office, if applicable, and the year that their term ends. The Porthole Board of Directors has developed a set of by-laws in accordance with state and federal laws for running a non-profit organization. (By-laws PDF)

Proposing a Production

To request support from Porthole Players for a future production, interested parties must complete and submit a Production Proposal Form. (Proposal Form PDF)   (Proposal Form DOC)

Board of Directors

Cyn Wilkes

Rhodd Caldwell

River Benson

Linda Capshaw

Jed Hansen

Michael Eastman

Kathy Heater

Sara Coxen

Jeff Lichtman

Gidget Manucci-Ashley

Minda Stiles

Lee Ritzman

Shawn Brateng